Pretentious Poetry

The Ravings of an Insomniac

Image

Sleep Oh sweet, tender sleep

Where hast thou been?

Lingering in the minds of those

Engaged in dreary labour

Struggling with the task of capturing

Thy glory in all its sweet flavor

But you, O Sleep, are shrouded in mist

Semi-formed, capricious

As elves in the woods of the night

Making merry without a single thought

Of what thee deprives me of

I go stark, staring mad without

The comfort of your arms, warmth

Draped around my shoulders

Dancing naked, keeping the cold at bay

The world is what it should be

When you come stealing into my heart

Yours is the only thievery I can bear

Indeed, the only I encourage

Steal my time and be done with it

The longer you take, the happier you make

A poor little soul, ravenous for your devotion

Willing to beg,borrow, steal or god forbid, kill

Just so that you, oh dear sweet sleep

Come stealing into her mind, keeping

The monsters at bay, rendering

Complete peace and serenity

The likes of which comes but once a lifetime

But with your presence can last

For the entirety of that life, if you be so kind

Begging your pardon, but I am your slave, for eternity

Love me or despise me, it is of no consequence

But do not desert me, for

Your mere absence drives me towards the shadows

In the darkness, I wish that you come a’ stealing to me

For your love is the only I can bear

Flame-like passions, dormant in the heat of the day

Come alive when the night comes a’ calling

So dear, sweet sleep

Come join in the fray when

The clash of wills is too much to bear

The piercing cold raking against naked heat too much to suffer

Its benumbing fingers rubbing against fiery passions

Abound in the dark, so filthy, so beautiful,

Turgid, murdering all else, intellect, reason

Cold reason cannot prevail against infamy

This formidable enemy that stirs in the dark

So quick to inflame, but slow to recede

This one can only be curbed when your dreamy presence

Comes a’ stealing into my heart, extinguishing

All else that stirs, so I

I can lie with my eyes shut, unseeing

And the darkness awashes over me, clouding

Everything, and I rest in peace, unscathed, in love.

2 thoughts on “The Ravings of an Insomniac

  1. Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too wonderful. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really wonderful.

Leave a Reply

